2017 Banquet

The 2016-2017 year was a very successful year for the Cashton FFA. We had many award winners and accomplished many things. The end of the year awards banquet was held  on May 21, 2017 at the Cashton Community Hall. FFA members, alumni members, families, and community members came to share a night to recognize the achievements of the Cashton FFA Chapter and its members. The event started off with opening ceremonies and a welcome by chapter president Angela Klinkner. They were then dismissed to get food while a video recapping the year’s events was shown.

The Honorary Chapter Degree is the highest degree the chapter can bestow on an individual or group in the community. This year’s recipient was Mark Gronemus. We would like to thank him for all he does for the chapter. Middle school members participated in many activities this year. All middle school members were recognized. 7th and 8th grade students are eligible for the Discovery Degree. This years recipients are Megan Culpitt and Mckenzie Peters; the star Discovery Degree winner was Megan Culpitt. The first degree high school students are eligible for is the Greenhand Degree. This years recipients are Jasmine Felch, Allison Brownell, William Balsdon, Rachel Klinkner, and Lily Adams; the recipient of the star Greenhand degree is Rachel Klinkner. The second degree a high school student is eligible for and the highest degree the chapter can bestow upon a member is the Chapter Degree. This year Jasmine Felch and William Balsdon received the Chapter Degree, and the Star winner was William Balsdon.

An award is given to all members who have been in the chapter for 4 years, their entire high school career, to thank them for all they have done for the chapter. This years Senior Members were Rebecca Gronemus, Angela Klinkner, Sierra Hanley, Nicholas Gronemus, Trevor Hemmersbach, Austin Larson, Avrie Butzler, Helen Flock, Noah Flock, Natasha Neubauer, and Kyle Lundgren were also eligible to get a scholarship from the Cashton FFA Alumni. The following received scholarships; Rebecca Gronemus, Angela Klinkner, Sierra Hanley, and Natasha Neubauer. The following seniors will also be awarded the State Degree at the Wisconsin State FFA convention in June; Angela Klinkner, Rebecca Gronemus, Sierra Hanley, Nicholas Gronemus, and Trevor Hemmersbach. The following FFA members received their American degree: Alex Hurtz, Josh Korn, and Ryan Osuski. Every year a member is chosen to receive the Dekalb award; that member has gone above and beyond to improve our chapter’s development. This year’s recipient was Rebecca Gronemus.

Members who participated in Speaking Contest and Career Development Events were also recognized for their achievements. Individual members and families who made quota or sold over a thousand dollars of fruit during fruit sale were recognized. This year’s top individual was Trevor Hemmersbach, and the top family was Rebecca and Nick Gronemus. This past year was a successful one for the Cashton FFA when it came to Soils Judging. Those who participated in summer soils were acknowledged, along with Angela Klinkner, Rebecca Gronemus, Trevor Hemmersbach, and Taylor Hanley who placed 1st in the state and went to the National Competition.

There is certain criteria that an FFA member must meet for the chapter and Cashton High School in order to receive a letter in FFA. The following members met those requirements and received 1st time letters: Allison Brownell, Rachel Klinkner, Lily Adams, Katelyn Schmitz, Kirsten Klinkner, Sarah Flock, Brianna Wanek, Emma Gronemus, Alannah Kast, Brett Butzler, Loren Olson, Brady Butzler, Alex Erickson, Kyah Flock, Helen Flock, Avrie Butzler, and Noah Flock. The following members received their second letters: Rian Gronemus, Nick Lasky, William Balsdon, Odessa Hemmersbach, Devon Olson, Mark Leis, Jasmine Felch, Kyle Lundgren. The following members received their third letters: Taylor Hanley, Taylor Menzynski, Sierra Hanley, Nick Gronemus, Rebecca Gronemus, Angela Klinkner, Trevor Hemmersbach, and Austin Larson.

Members were also awarded based on their Supervised Agriculture Experiences; they were given Proficiency Awards. Ryan Osuski, Jestin Hemmersbach, Taylor Hanley, Sierra Hanley, Nick Gronemus, Rebecca Gronemus,  Angela Klinkner, Trevor Hemmersbach, William Balsdon, Mark Leis, Brady Butzler,  and Devon Olson revived chapter level Proficiency Awards. Alex Hurtz will be receiving a gold rated state Proficiency Award at the Wisconsin State FFA Convention in June.  This year the Cashton FFA chapter will be sending four members to the State Convention and State Fair to participate in the Wisconsin State FFA Honors Band and Choir. Angela Klinkner, Rachel Klinkner and Lily Adams will be playing in the band. Taylor Hanley will be singing in the choir.

The 2016-2017 Cashton FFA Banquet rounded out with the Installation of new officers. The officers leaving this year were seniors Angela Klinkner, Rebecca Gronemus, Sierra Hanley, Nicholas Gronemus,and Kyle Lundgren. The new Cashton FFA Officer Team is Taylor Hanley-President, Taylor Menzynski- Vice President, Devon Olson– Vice President Rachel Klinkner– Secretary, William Balsdon– Treasurer, Allison Brownell– Reporter, Lily Adams-Historian, Jasmine Felch-Parliamentarian and Sarah Flock– Sentinel. The Banquet ended with Closing Ceremonies.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.