2016 Banquet

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The 2015-2016 year was a very successful year for the Cashton FFA. We had many award winners and accomplished many things. The end of the year awards banquet was held  on May 18, 2016 at the Cashton Community Hall. FFA members, alumni members, families, and community members came to share a night to recognize the achievements of the Cashton FFA Chapter and its members. The event started off with opening ceremonies and a welcome by chapter president Angela Klinkner. They were then dismissed to get food while a video recapping the year’s events was shown.

The Honorary Chapter Degree is the highest degree the chapter can bestow on an individual or group in the community. This year’s recipient was Denise Osuski. We would like to thank her for all she does for the chapter. Middle school members participated in many activities this year. All middle school members were recognized. 7th and 8th grade students are eligible for the Discovery Degree. This years recipients are Bonita Hanley, Isobel Mason, and Annie Schreier; the star Discovery Degree winner was Annie Schreier. The first degree high school students are eligible for is the Greenhand Degree. This years recipients are Kyah Flock, Rian Gronemus, Odessa Hemmersbach, and Ashley Kempf; the recipient of the star Greenhand degree is Odessa Hemmersbach. The second degree a high school student is eligible for and the highest degree the chapter can bestow upon a member is the Chapter Degree. This year Brady Butzler, Taylor Hanley, and Devon Olson received the Chapter Degree, and the Star winner was Taylor Hanley.

An award is given to all members who have been in the chapter for 4 years, their entire high school career, to thank them for all they have done for the chapter. This years Four Year Members were Ryan Osuski, Alex Hurtz, Jestin Hemmersbach, Josh Korn, and Jaden Schmitz. These members were also eligible to get a scholarship from the Cashton FFA Alumni. The following recieved scholarships, Ryan Osuski, Alex Hurtz, Josh Korn,and Jaden Schmitz. The following seniors will also be awarded the State Degree at the Wisconsin State FFA convention in June, Ryan Osuski, Alex Hurtz, and Josh Korn. Every year a member is chosen to receive the Dekalb award; that member has gone above and beyond to improve our chapter’s development. This year’s recipient was Alex Hurtz.

Members who participated in Speaking Contest and Career Development Events were also recognized for their achievements. Individual members and families who made quota or sold over a thousand dollars of fruit during fruit sale were recognized. This year’s top individual was Josh Korn, and the top family was Rebecca and Nick Gronemus. This past year was a successful one for the Cashton FFA when it came to Soils Judging. Those who participated in summer soils were acknowledged, along with Alex Hurtz, Sierra Hanley, Josh Korn, and Nick Gronemus who placed 1st in the state and went to the National Competition.

There is certain criteria that an FFA member must meet for the chapter and Cashton High School in order to receive a letter in FFA. The following members met those requirements and received 1st time letters: William Balsdon, Rian Gronemus, Odessa Hemmersbach, Jasmine Felch, Kyle Lundgren, Devon Olson, Mark Leis, and Ashley Kempf. The following members received their second letters: Josh Korn, Jaden Schmitz, Ryan Osuski, Jestin Hemmersbach, Taylor Hanley, Sierra Hanley, Nick Gronemus, Rebecca Gronemus, Alex Hurtz, Angela Klinkner, Trevor Hemmersbach, and Austin Larson.

Members were also awarded based on their Supervised Agriculture Experiences; they were given Proficiency Awards. Ryan Osuski, Jestin Hemmersbach, Taylor Hanley, Sierra Hanley, Nick Gronemus, Rebecca Gronemus,  Angela Klinkner, Trevor Hemmersbach, William Balsdon, Mark Leis, Brady Butzler,  and Devon Olson revived chapter level Proficiency Awards. Alex Hurtz will be receiving a gold rated state Proficiency Award at the Wisconsin State FFA Convention in June.  This year the Cashton FFA chapter will be sending two members to the State Convention and State Fair to participate in the Wisconsin State FFA Honors Band and Choir. Angela Klinkner will be playing in the band. Taylor Hanley will be singing in the choir.

The 2015-2016 Cashton FFA Banquet rounded out with the Instillation of new officers. The only officer leaving this year was senior Alex Hurtz, who was the Sentinel. The new Cashton FFA Officer Team is Angela Klinkner-President, Rebecca Gronemus- Vice President, Sierra Hanley- Secretary, Nick Gronemus- Treasurer, Taylor Hanley- Reporter, Taylor Menzynski- Parliamentarian/Historian, and Kyle Lundgren- Sentinel. The Banquet ended with Closing Ceremonies.